Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
First I am trying this forum because I searched and did not find any relevant posts/info in other areas - so please let me know if I should move/repost! it seemed relevant here....

I am just getting started resawing thin "veneer" and thin boards (meaning not the 1/40" stuff but 1/6" plus).

I have a Laguna LT14 SUV with a new 1" ReSaw King blade.

My question is about adjusting for drift and thickness variance.

I am trying to adjust for even thickness - I am seeing .5 thousandths difference in a 12"cut... meaning for a 12" board, I slice off a 1/16" (+) veneer cut and the FRONT edge is say 0.070" and the trailing edge is 0.075"

After having "slightly" adjusted fence drift both ways a tiny bit - I am confused... I STILL have the same leading edge is thinner than trailing edge thickness ?

Any light you can shed on my setup/adjustment that would affect this would be most helpful!

·
Registered
92 Posts
I'm not an expert on redrawing but if you are holding .005" then your doing pretty good. That's basically a little bit thicker than a human hair.

If you want the two surface more parallel the finish it with a drum sander or planer.

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
to elaborate:

I hear what you are saying,
but it means that if you are sawing a 2.5" board into 24-32 slices in a flitch,

and you stack them up....

then one end may be say 1 3/16 and the trailing edge 1 7/16, or 4/16 or 1/4" !!!

so I realize that's a 1/4" over 24 pieces,
it just seems like I could do better ?

or - I just want to understand what the cause is, and deal with it ;-)
(even if dealing with it is that's the best your gonna get kid')

·
where's my table saw?
27,753 Posts
a few things to check

Is the table absolutely 90 degrees to the blade?
Are the side guides running against the side of the blade, but not under pressure?
Is the blade tensioned to a clear tone sound when plucked?