Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I lucked out and found an awesome large storage cabinet to use as the foundation for a dead flat woodworking table. I wish I knew what it was originally used for because it probably weighs 400 lbs and has an aluminum frame on all edges. The worktop surface measures about 33x73". It consists of two 5/8ths thick particle board layers with a formica top. The existing top is about 1.5" thick, but I'm worried it's not strong enough for bench dogs "as-is".

I feel like the top is flat enough, but I need to figure out how to hold work down for router work and square glue-ups. Should I go with an inset T-track setup, or beef up the particle board with thick plywood and go the bench dog route?

(forgive any bad terminology! I'm new at this.)

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
What kind of woodworking are you going to do? Hand tools? Power tools? A mix?

It makes a difference. Working with hand tools almost exclusively, I love my Gramercy holdfasts. I like having a really quick way to reposition things, and the ability to drop a bench dog in the holes I drilled for them means supporting basically anything is easy.

If I were still doing almost exclusively power tool work, it's a lot more likely that I'd have inset T-track: there are a lot of good accessories for them, and I'd be a lot less concerned about catching an edged tool on them. Right now if I knock over a plane or drive a chisel too far, it's guaranteed to hit wood. With metal in the bench, I'd be a lot more concerned.

Short version, I don't think it matters. If you do T-track, though, I'd advocate for still beefing up the top: 1/4" masonite or plywood will be really easy to replace when the time comes that you've scarred it to unusability.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
amckenzie4,