Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
We just bought a farm table, constructed from reclaimed barn wood from southern Missouri.

We transported the table in a closed trailer, from the Midwest to Northern CA during the summer heat... when we removed the carefully packed table...surprise, there was a huge crack along the grain of one board of the table top.

I have limited woodworking experience, but have some friends that can help.

Would it be at all effective to simply clamp the table top together and use a wood filler?

Any general advice of how to tackle this job?

Attachments

·
where's my table saw?
27,870 Posts
you really have 2 choices

First choice is to "repair" the crack by filling it with epoxy, taping the bottom and around the crack on the top and slowly filling it with the mixture until it is slightly above the surface. Clean out what ever is loose as it appears that a previous repair has failed. I would mix a dark sanding or sawdust with the epoxy to color it since it will be clear if you don't. Do not use a "filler" since it has no strength. You can drill a small hole at the end/beginning of the crack to prevent further movement.

The second choice is to saw apart the board in question and replace the cracked portion with a matching piece a much more involved operation requiring a straight edge guide, a good circular saw and sharp blade AND a matching piece of new plank.... :blink:

Reactions: RareArtists

·
Registered
26,336 Posts
The top appears to have been doweled or screwed through the top into the base. This didn't allow for wood movement and the top split. The way this was done it's possible the crack could get bigger or new cracks could form elsewhere. There is just no way to predict whether it will stay like it is or not. The crack that is there looks old to me. Someone may have already glued or patched the crack before and it re-opened.