Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone! I am thinking about removing the carpet from my stairs and doing wood. I know to do it properly I need to remove the current treads and risers. My home is 10 years old and looking from under the stairs I can tell they used liquid nails. My question is how hard is that to remove? I have no experience with liquid nails. I also assume the treads are nailed. Just wondering if the liquid nails "pops" off with a few hammer hits or are the treads going to break doing this and I am going to have to do a lot of cutting to remove them? Thanks for any advice you can give!

·
Registered
483 Posts
Sorry to tell you, they will most likely be a bear to get off. Be mindful of keeping the stringers intact. Don't go whaling away on them with a hammer.
Cut the centers out with a Sawzall then attack what's glued down.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Sorry to tell you, they will most likely be a bear to get off. Be mindful of keeping the stringers intact. Don't go whaling away on them with a hammer.
Cut the centers out with a Sawzall then attack what's glued down.
Hey thanks....I was afraid that was going to be the answer. :(. The stairs were built very well. no squeaks. Wondering if I should just do 3/4 Oak treads (vs. new 1 inch treads) over top of the existing treads. I would assume pad and carpet are in the 3/4 range so there shouldn't be too much of a height difference.

·
Registered
32 Posts
Well, remove one tread and/or riser, which may be a good task. Once one or a set is removed, the adjacent ones may be easier to access and remove.

Sonny

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, remove one tread and/or riser, which may be a good task. Once one or a set is removed, the adjacent ones may be easier to access and remove.

Sonny
That's a good idea. If perhaps the first couple aren't terrible I can just role with it.

·
Registered
305 Posts