Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good Afternoon,
I am a manager at a large horse facility, and every year we hand sand and re-polyurethane our stalls. We don't sand to the wood, just enough to remove the gloss to help the new coat stick. We don't want to sand deeper than that, because re-staining all 8 barns is too big a task.

We have run into some problems, however. Due to so many old coats, as well and changing weather conditions, there are areas that aren't well adhered any more. Putting additional polyurethane over these results in large chunks peeling off a few months later. My thought is to use a scraper, but I'm employing unskilled students to do this, and I'd like to limit their ability to gouge the walls too badly (hence hand sanding versus mechanical). Are there any thoughts on how I can get a good bond to the walls with the new polyurethane using failproof tools?

·
Registered
26,982 Posts
Good Afternoon,
I am a manager at a large horse facility, and every year we hand sand and re-polyurethane our stalls. We don't sand to the wood, just enough to remove the gloss to help the new coat stick. We don't want to sand deeper than that, because re-staining all 8 barns is too big a task.

We have run into some problems, however. Due to so many old coats, as well and changing weather conditions, there are areas that aren't well adhered any more. Putting additional polyurethane over these results in large chunks peeling off a few months later. My thought is to use a scraper, but I'm employing unskilled students to do this, and I'd like to limit their ability to gouge the walls too badly (hence hand sanding versus mechanical). Are there any thoughts on how I can get a good bond to the walls with the new polyurethane using failproof tools?