Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Greetings all.

A relative still has these cabinets, and they are now a ripe 60+ years old, and have
never been refinished. I am going to take on the project because some of them look awful.
The ones less used, don't look a day over 40 ;) !

Anyway, the ones under the sink have taken the worst beating, with a good portion of the
finish just being gone, and grey looking wood remaining.

I am not a professional. My goal is to sand and refinish them, but I am concerned I may not
be able to match the finish color to the other ones that are still in ok shape. Should I just accept
my fate and do them all, or could someone advise me on how to match the refinish to less aged
look of the ones in better condition.

I searched around some, and really only found one thread elsewhere with a guy raving about
"tung oil" and knotty pine. Then again the youtube gurus advised that tung oil may be a lot more
hassle than it's worth, at least for prepping the wood for finish. Again, I am still in the process
of studying how to proceed on this.

Please see the attached pics, and thanks for your consideration and experienced answers on this.

Brown Cabinetry Wood Rectangle Drawer
Brown Wood Fixture Amber Wood stain

· Premium Member
Cabinetmaker
245 Posts
First-off, Welcome to the forum!

Due to longtime exposure to UV rays much color fading has occurred. Combined with water damage, I doubt that you would be able to match the hanging cabinet colors that are in better shape -- at least to your satisfaction. You could try mixing several color varieties of stains, but that can be very costly and time-consuming. Spot-patching by mixing colors can sometimes be done with good results. But from your photos, the base cabinet appear to be in bad shape. If you decide to spot- patch only, experiment on scraps of sanded knotty pine.