Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to table refinshing. Can you please HELP.
I first sanded this table with a 150, orbit sander and moved up to a 220. I then stained the wood. I did not leave the stain on long the 1st time. As we wanted it darker we did a 2nd coat, no sanding just added more about 5 mins after we wiped the 1st coat off and let it dry 48 hours. It was still tacky, I took a cloth and mineral spirts and removed the excess. And we now have the pics below. I would like it darker. What do I do. I have no idea what kind of wood it is. The stain was oil-based. And I want to tung oil for a finish. Please help, I have a ton of other pics if you want them but I don’t know how to re-size and upload. Thanks for your help. It does have a leaf that’s why the grain looks the way it does. Thanks again for your help.

·
Registered
27,647 Posts