Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Learning the Hobby
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Glad to have come across this site as I'm new to the hobby of woodworking. I've got very limited experience, but my brain is becoming quite full with the possibilities.

My wife and I just bought a house in April and it has a heated 24'x10' climate controlled (kind of - stays around 50 F year round) and enclosed area behind the garage that I'm slowly filling with tools much to her chagrin.

I'm looking at doing little projects (first one is making a tabletop for a base that we have) like picture frames, boxes, etc.

I'm 30 years old, been married just over a year, am an avid Vikings (though they hurt my heart) and Badger fan, run my own small business, have 2 dogs named Clark Kent and Bruce Wayne, like long walks on the beach, yada yada.

Looking forward to meeting more of you and being a part of the community.

Reed

·
Registered
834 Posts
Welcome!

·
Learning the Hobby
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Where in MN?

The wife wants the shop to be storage so I will be designing something to get the most possible work space.

·
Registered
825 Posts
Where in MN? The wife wants the shop to be storage so I will be designing something to get the most possible work space.
About 90 miles west of you on HiWay 212. Renville. My shop is 14' x 14' and plenty big for building with hand tools. I try to keep everything I own small. Stuff accumulates to fill space available.

·
Registered
1,223 Posts
Where in MN?

The wife wants the shop to be storage so I will be designing something to get the most possible work space.
Welcome, and good luck there. I find the storage and work area concepts to be mutually exclusive when it comes to how the spouse thinks.
Make some nice things she likes and it'll get better (not going to say how I know that)

Reactions: kabyt

·
Learning the Hobby
14 Posts
Discussion Starter #9