Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
Termite
8,781 Posts
Just making sure. Many say best and they really have a budget. Reason I ask about brand is that I learned over the years to stick with one quality brand and move on.

For 12", I'd look at sonething with a thick plate...

·
where's my table saw?
31,928 Posts
Folks! I need to rip a Bunch of 1x6 red balau / batu and I'd like some recommendations for a good 12" blade. I'm used to working softwoods mainly so need advice on this one!
Assuming your arbor is 1.00" ? not 5/8".
You will run at least a 3 HP motor? Are you ripping the 1" thickness OR the 6" width like "resawing" ?
I am happy with my Freud thin kerf blades in 10" so I would expect the same performance in a 12"

I have no experience with this company but I've heard good things about them:

Likewise with Forrest blades, I own two of them, but not used them as of yet:

Reactions: B Coll

·
Registered
Termite
8,781 Posts
I guess my first question would be how much did the user use the blade. Some of the time or a lot.

I can oaste plenty of blades on here from the internet, doesn't mean I've actually used it.

·
where's my table saw?
31,928 Posts
yeah there's no right answer, I'll just start shopping, see what I can find!
Yeah, never mind my advice, go for it! Good Luck.

·
where's my table saw?
31,928 Posts
Yeah, never mind my advice, go for it! Good Luck.
So, I checked my stock of 12" rip blades with a 1" arbor, which by the way you never answered that question nor whether you are ripping or resawing..... and found a few including one I had used, a Dewalt 24 T thin kerf.

Attachments

·
where's my table saw?
31,928 Posts
No woodn I'm looking at those links and others, I already have the glue line rip, I might just try it and the one I have on the saw now, and not be so afraid of hardwoods!
Softwoods will gum up a blade quickly and it will overheat and bind up faster than hardwoods which in my experience, seem to cut easier.

·
Registered