Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
First post on this forum for me. Hope I'm in the right place! I'm just an amateur building a butler's pantry for my wife with raised panel cabinet doors.
I'm using a big (2.5") raised panel bit (without back cutter) in my homemade router table. I have my vertical fence closed just short of touching the router bit on each side. The panels are 20" tall but only 6" wide. Tall and skinny. I'm setting the fence so as to cut the entire cove at once but making about 4 passes up. (I've already removed 80% of the material on the table saw.) Material is 3/4" MDF.
Routing the 20" side is easy because it's so long. However I've had the left side of the 6" side get "sucked" into the router blade before it gets to the "safety" of the left fence. Scared the heck out of me! The right side is no problem since I'm pushing it with a sacraficial push stick. Also using a feather board on right side of fence and a safety paddle to apply downward pressure.
So, am I doing it correctly? Any tips for doing this safer? I guess I could have done the two shorter sides before cutting the big MDF to width, but it's too late now. The panels are all cut.
Hope this is clear and too wordy,
Thanks for your time!
Ed

·
Registered
1,932 Posts
You need to use a backer block to support the short ends as you feed them on the router table. With a 2 1/2" hole in the fence and a 6" end, it's pretty easy for it to get sucked in. There are a number of ways to provide the support needed. The most basic and easiest to use is simply a square piece of MDF maybe 12" x 12". Make up a few, turn the backer with each pass at the same setting so the backer has a fresh surface.