Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
139 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am getting started into woodworking and admit I have little knowledge. I am trying to get outfitted with the bread and butter tools to do some fun projects. My projects will be greatly varied--everything from cabinets to furniture to boats to toys. I know each of those requires specialized tools but right now I'm trying to get tools that will be versatile for many projects and the "bread and butter" of the shop.

Currently I have a few items--Festool Kapex Miter, Festool jig saw, Ridgid cordless power tools, several Dremel tools and accessories, and a SawStop table saw on the way. I am blessed to have the means to buy quality products and as you can tell from the Festool and SawStop I don't hesitate to do so when I feel there is a benefit to the price increase.

I have research sanders but found very little information. What do most people have in their shop for sanding? I'm not looking for a one dimensional product, but rather something that can be versatile and handle a variety of tasks. As I need specialized equipment, I will buy it.

Do people use belt sanders? One guy I made some chairs with that is all he used. It worked fine, but I hear very little discussion on woodworking sites about sanders at all and especially very little about belt sanders.

I have been looking at the Festool Rotex sander. Yes, pricey, but does provide multiple functions and is a quality handheld sander.

I would very much appreciate input from folks on sanders. I learn much from you guys and appreciate your help. If you have any links to webpages that may give me good general information about what sanders are used for what tasks that would be appreciated as well. I'm sort of overwhelmed getting started and am looking for some starting points to do my research.

Thanks!

·
Registered
303 Posts