Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a bit confused abput what is considered the proper moisture content in wood for furniture construction.

I have been cutting and air drying wood for about 15 years, and never really thought about how dry it was. Most of my wood went to boat work as well as some trinkets such as candle holders, picture frames and cutting boards, but never for serious furniture or cabinet making.

I've been reading on this forum about kiln drying and 8% target moisture contents so I got curious about my own wood. I bought a moisture meter and did some testing.

I have a stock of lumber that I cut, including oak, cherry, ash, birch, maple and pine and spruce. This wood is between 18 and 60 months old and it all measured from 11-15% moisture content.

I also have a stock of commercial lumber including a lot of construcion material (Douglas Fir) mahogany (some old- a 1992 piece of 12/4X 12 as well as some newer stuff) and assorted pieces. (The company next door to where I work(ed) is a high end custom interior and mill work operation. I raid their dumpster every week. It is unbelievable what they throw away.) Everything I checked is in the 11-13% range. I found nothing approaching 8% MC.

What am I missing here? How important is 1 or 2% MC really?

My shop is an old 1870 era barn. I cut some pine trees in late July and I plan to mill them this fall. They will season over the winter, and I plan to re-side the barn/shop in the spring. Do you all think there will be a dryness problem with the wood?

Thanks in advance for any input.

Ken

·
Registered
1,651 Posts