Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am new to scrolling...i have a cheap ryobi 16in variable speed. I know its not a great saw but its what i can afford..been wanting to make some puzzles out of half inch-3/4 in stock....is it even possible with pin end plades? i got some thin blades they break...thicker blades dont make the corners i need. What is the best brand blade to buy? olsen? any advise is appreciated..other than drop 500-1000 on a good saw..haha...thanks guys.

·
Registered
997 Posts
I have a fairly cheap craftsman scroll saw and really like it. I have used pin end blades and straight blades to do scroll work.

You just have to drill a bigger hole to string the blade threw.
I really like the Craftsman 360 blades. There straight blades that cut in all directions.

I made this cut out using 3/4 red oak.

Attachments

·
Registered
1,377 Posts
I am fairly new to scroll work and I have a low end craftsman. I have used Olson blades and like them. The ones that snap on me are ususally because I overtighten them.

I have used 360 blades and in my very limited experience would not use them for puzzle pieces. Maybe it is me but they leave little bumps (the diameter of the blade) if you do not move smoothly. I use them for really tight spots like in the unicorn I did.

As far as blade breaking...I have done these which are almost 2 inch thick oak, maple, and walnut.

I am sure Kenbo and others will chime in with more expert advice.

Take your time and don't push through the stock and your blades should last.
Unicorn3.jpg

photo 31.jpg

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Thanks for your reply...im really thinkin i need to get a pinless saw. This one works great for just cutting stuff out but these blades regardless of stock dont seem to want to make those tight corners....maybe i just need to practice more....lol..will keep messing with it...maybe i can figure it out....

·
Registered
131 Posts