Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
45 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am a new wood worker and have aquired a planer (13" bench planer). I have been making many shallow cuts instead of fewer, deeper cuts. While I find it pleasurable to spend the time making many passes (I am a hobbyist), I started to think that my method will cause the blades to dull more quickly.

Is there a general consensus on the best way to use a planer? I do not plan on using wood with knots for the foreseeable future.

In a related question, is there a rule of thumb about how long the blades will stay sharp? For instance, let's say that as an experiment, I only ran knot-free red-oak through it (and did this sporadically so the blades did not overheat), could anyone guestimate how many feet of oak I could put through it before the blades would dull? I guess if I could get a sense of this, it would help me decide when to resaw off the excess before using the planer to get to the exact dimension.
Thanks,
Duncan

·
where's my table saw?
29,170 Posts
Hey the blades dull when they get dull

Just use them!:yes:
What brand of planer is it?
Shallow cuts, meaning 1/64th?
Acquired meaning used?
Blade condition unknown?
It's a tool use it. When the blades get dull sharpen them, flip them or replace them...don't worry about it! Have fun! :thumbsup: bill
FYI, a heavy cut for almost any planer is 1/8".
Knots are knots, yes they are harder, but not as hard as HHS.

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
An engineer from PC told me that shallow cuts (1/64) would cause the blades to dull quicker due to heat. (Key words "due to heat".) He didn't understand how my planer blades lasted over three years and I do use the machine a lot.