Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
65 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking for advice on the proper technique required to joint a board edge. I have done a lot of it but I am pretty much self taught. The boards I am jointing are white cedar, 46 inches long, 8 inch wide.They are rough sawn lumber that has been planed. The edges are slightly bowed as one would expect. I am sure there is plenty I could learn that would help me become more efficient.
Thanks

·
where's my table saw?
27,870 Posts
this is pretty useful

·
Registered
1,767 Posts
Generally, you want to joint one face first. Then joint an edge with the freshly jointed face against the jointer's fence. Next step is to run the board through the planer to true the other side. Lastly, true the remaining edge by ripping it on a table saw.

With your 8" cedar, you would need an 8" jointer to do this, though. Otherwise you may have to use a planer sled to get the first face true. Or rip the cedar in half, do the milling and glue it back together. This might be advantageous from a warping/cupping standpoint.

I was searching for a picture that would show how to position the grain direction in relationship to the direction of feed (prevents chipping and tear-out). I found a good picture in this article which also has a lot of other tips: http://workshopcompanion.com/KnowHo...ing/2_Jointing_KnowHow/2_Jointing_KnowHow.htm

Bill

PS: woodnthings was faster than me!
PS Again: I just re-read your post and saw that the lumber has already been planed.

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
Generally, you want to joint one face first. Then joint an edge with the freshly jointed face against the jointer's fence. Next step is to run the board through the planer to true the other side. Lastly, true the remaining edge by ripping it on a table saw.
I will usually take just enough off that last rough edge on the jointer to prevent splinters when ripping to width on the table saw.

·
where's my table saw?