Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I got my sticks of maple for another set of Cabinet doors. They came wrapped with a note that advised to not sand with grit finer than 120.
I was using 220 on the poplar I used on other doors. Does it sound correct to use 100 or 120 on the raw wood? I wouldn't think I could get the surface as smooth as I like with anything heavier than 220.
If I use 100 on the rails and stiles, do I use 100 on the maple ply I got for the panels too?
This is my first project using maple.

Thoughts?

·
Registered
1,651 Posts
Not a pro but I use 180 I think 220 would be fine.

Reactions: RMDMan

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Painting or staining? The higher the grit sanded, the worse results i've had staining things. If painting.....it doesn't really matter.

·
Registered
55 Posts
I'd follow your supplier's advice. Finer grit papers tend to burnish fine-grained woods like maple, in effect sealing the wood's pores from stain penetration.

·
Super Moderator
4,415 Posts
120 paint, 150 stain.

Reactions: RMDMan

·
Registered
1,400 Posts
You mentioned maple "ply"... Maybe that is what the mfg doesn't want you to sand beyond the 120 fearing you may sand throught the top ply layer.

Generally speaking about solid hardwoods... I never sand beyond 150 with the power sanders and finish by hand with 180 grit, after wetting the wood. I learned from a master to take a pencil and lightly scribble all over wood - sand it clean with 100 grit paper. I repeat the process with 120 and 150 grit paper. The pencil scribbles assure me that I have completely sanded the surface and also points to any surface valleys.