Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
205 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been tinkering around with small projects for several months now and it's about time I get serious and down to business. I need to stop trying to build things and do projects when I do not have a decent place set up to work. I moved recently and am renting a house. I don't have a garage so the only logical place would be the basement. The landlord does not mind if I use the basement.

The current setup is bad. Each time I use a tool I have to dig it out, carry it to the only electrical outlet, and then put it away before I get the next tool out. It is clear that my next project should be the shop itself.:yes:

The basement space I can use is 13' x 40' and has an additional 10' x 11' room. It is poorly lit and has only one electrical outlet. I will have to share this space with a washer, dryer, furnace, and hot water heater.

Being that I am renting, nearly everything I build will have to be modular. Any additional lighting and electrical work I do will be permanent.

I have to start somewhere. Nearly all of the unneeded stuff lying around in these pictures will be moved into the spare bed room. The rafters do make for great clamp storage.
Toolroom Room Building Workshop Machine

Everything is really messy right now. Having everything organized will be a priority.
Property Room Building Floor Basement

Property Building Machine Recording studio Toolroom

After cleaning up the junk and getting some better lighting and electrical run, my first shop improvement project will be to get my sliding compound miter saw off the floor and onto a table. This wall is about 16' from the stairs on the left to the dryer on the right. That is more than enough room for the miter saw.
Room Basement Building Metal Ceiling

The small 10' x 11' side room (not pictured) I plan to put a door on and use for finishing. As I make progress I will update this thread.

·
Registered
205 Posts