Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I made this walnut table four years ago. About a year ago scratches or marks appeared, looks like they are under the poly finish. I tried buffing with mineral spirits, and recoating a section with poly. No change. Any ideas what caused this and what do I do now? They seem to be getting worse. The finish is min wax oil based poly.

Attachments

·
Registered
14 Posts
This is ONLY a suggestion...WAIT for the real knowledgeable people

I made this walnut table four years ago. About a year ago scratches or marks appeared, looks like they are under the poly finish. I tried buffing with mineral spirits, and recoating a section with poly. No change. Any ideas what caused this and what do I do now? They seem to be getting worse. The finish is min wax oil based poly.
Seems to be a whitish color under the topcoat.

I wonder if the old denatured alcohol trick would help here?

I have zero experience with this, just read it somewhere.
What you do is FIRST and MOST IMPORTANTLY... take the thing outside, far away from your house or any thing that could catch on fire. Dry grass, dry leaves, etc. Make sure and positively that you have a Fire Extinguisher or a garden hose ON and ready to put out a fire that may get out of control, check this first, twice.
NEVER do this inside any structure, house, home, garage, basement, shed, etc. OUTSIDE and away from anything. Fumes build up, a cat can knock over a can of alcohol, curtains can ignite, sawdust, etc...etc.
Fire is serious and very dangerous stuff.

Pour a light coat of denatured alcohol on the top and light it with a match. Let it go until the fire goes out by itself.
Try a small area first.
After the fire goes out wipe it with a soft dry lintfree rag in the direction of the grain, lightly.
If the white is gone, go for it and complete the job.