Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello
I'm new to the forum and thank you in advance.
I attached a pic of a small piece that I'm spraying varathane brand water based polyurethane and I'm getting this pooling effect.
It is 82 deg and a bit humid.
Haven't had this problem before using the same gun and about the same temp.
Any help would be greatly appreciated!
Wood Flooring Font Floor Gas

Thanks again.

·
Registered
417 Posts
I'm relatively new to spraying myself. So, no expert. It looks to me like you are getting way too much material on the surface and the the air from the gun is blowing it around. Not sure that is what it is but that is what it looks like.

·
Registered
27,544 Posts
I also think you are spraying too much at once. I don't think it's the only problem though. I believe there is some kind of chemical contamination going on too. Might be oil in the air or maybe silicone. Do you use any silicone lubricant in your shop?

·
Registered
62 Posts
I agree with the contamination. Looks like a giant fish eye. That and to heavy an application of material. With the graphics underneath sanding does not look like an option. Maybe???? thorough cleaning with some naphtha. Do not scrub but wipe once, turn the cloth and wipe again. Maybe flood the surface the last time to wash off the contamination. Maybe a light sanding to prep what is there and spray VERY light coats. More like a dusting. Wait the maximum amount of time between coats then another dusting untill you seal in the remaining contamination..... IF you can.

Ken

·
Registered
27,544 Posts
Another possible cause for the finish not flowing out is if you used stearated sandpaper sanding between coats. It's the white sandpaper used for finishing and can leave a contamination of the sandpaper behind that can affect polyurethane. Most other finishes are alright with that paper but not polyurethane, either oil based or water based.

·
Registered
3 Posts