Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
When I do a project, I like to glue up everything I can clamp together and set it aside to dry.

My problem is that by the time I get glue spread on the last surfaces, the glue I put on at the beginning of the gluing process has sometimes begun to form a skin before I can get the peices put together for clamping. I use the common carpenter's glue available in most home centers and hardware stores.

Can this stuff be thinned so I can spread it faster and get the clamps on sooner? Anyone know of a glue where this is not a problem?

·
Registered
569 Posts
I'm new to woodworking so I've been reading labels on glue for about a month trying to find one with a longer setup time for the same reason. Instead of finding longer setup times I keep finding shorter. It's funny I bought titebond 1 and 2 but not 3. Thanks for the info.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Jon is absolutely correct. Plastic resin glue (DAP Weldwood) has a lot longer working time than the others, and it's a GREAT glue for your woodworking. Not too many of us use it anymore, though. It's got a shelf life of about a year, it's not very easy to find sometimes, and your project should be clamped up for a longer period of time than the Titebonds. Those seem to be minor setbacks for such a quality glue.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I've had this same problem when gluing my furniture arms. I stopped using Tightbond ll. Instead,I used some old wood glue I had. I then applied a very liberal amount of glue and positioned the two wooden surfaces and clamped them. Using a liberal amount of glue means you have to wipe up the excess glue with lacquer thinner so as not to cause the glue to act as a sealer and thereby preventing an even staining.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Thank you all. I now realize I need an array of glue types; each one suited to a different application. Thanks again.

·
Registered
535 Posts