Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a custom door builder that has been given an opportunity to build cabinetry as well however I am not familiar with determining price by foot, is there someone that can instruct me with a formula or a basis on which to go by. All help will be greatly appreciated.

·
Registered
164 Posts
well around here the pricing is from $85.00-100.00 a linear ft. depending on accents(round corners,recessed doors,scrolled kicks)or type of material. $85.00 would be for normal style cabs w/ash or paint grade maple. i add for things like refridge cab. vent hoods and wood upgrades.measured as it fits the wall space,ie,if you had a 7' vanity and a 2' upper cab above the toilet that bathroom would have 9' total x $85.00. kitchens are generally done the same way. this would include raised panel doors square or arched

·
Registered
31 Posts
Pricing cabinets by the foot never made much sense to me. After all, building a 15" base cabinet isn't half as much work for me as building a 30" cabinet, so why should I get paid half as much for it?

I always figure my materials and labor independently. Materials are pretty straightforward: how many sheets of plywood? how many l.f.of face frame stock? etc... For the labor, I start with how much I need to make per day to be profitable, then figure out how many days it will take to do the work.

The only hard part of doing it this way is figuring out how much you need to make per day. There's a ton that goes into that, but that's been discussed ad nauseum elsewhere (it's all over ContractorTalk). Once you have a number you like, it's easy. Plus you don't need to come up with a new plan for every different type of work you do...

·
johnep
2,006 Posts
pricing

Simply have a look in the stores what similar joinery costs and price above or below according to the market segment you wish to occupy.