Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am working on a project that requires a couple of 2" diameter holes to be drilled/cut into some 3/4" thick boards. I used a hole saw the first time but it took a quite a while and was pretty tough on the saw blade. Is there a better method for cutting the holes? Should I drill a series of smaller holes and clean it up with a stencil and router? This is a project that I may end up using as gifts so I may be drilling quite a few of these holes if I can find a more efficient method.

Thanks.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Geez next time try to be a little faster guys. :smile:

I have never used one before, but those bits look like they will make life much easier. Thanks for the quick suggestions.

·
Registered
1,895 Posts
One way I cut discs, or holes, is with a router and template.

Using different guide bushings, youcan cut different sizes, with the same template.

Be sure to secure the work. Both the disc, and stock around it. I double tape it down. A fixture could be made to clamp the work, below the template, for faster use.

Attachments

·
Registered
914 Posts
If you plan to make different size holes in the future an adjustable router circle jig is invaluable in my opinion. It could be as simple as a piece of 1/4" hardboard with pivot holes drilled at different distances or more elaborate as mine is since I use it almost daily for many different sized holes.

http://www.woodworkingtalk.com/f27/easily-adjustable-router-circle-jig-59939/

·
Registered
3,339 Posts
Using a forstner bit on q drill press be sure to clamp a backer board between the work piece and the DP table.

this will protect the bit and assure a clean exit.

·
Registered
994 Posts