Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm just getting into woodworking (furniture, etc.). Have done quite a bit of carpenty around the house. Got rid of my old BT3000 and got a Steel City 35990C and Incra LS-TS Combo and router lift on the way.

I have a one and a half car garage, so can store the saw in the half and move it into center to use. I'm going to build a folder down bench on one side and I have Rocklaer JawHorse (the one that can hold 4x8 sheets) and a Ryobi Miter Saw stand.

I have a spare window AC unit and decent propane heater. I accept some days will be just too hot or too cold, but I don't want to be confined to spring and fall. On a few really humid days it looks like someone hosed down the inside of the garage.

My biggest concerns are tools and lumber.

I don't want my tools to rust (esp. the top of the saw) and I'm concerned that I'd buy lumber in winter, work in garage over several weekends on a piece and then take it into a warm house (and vice versa in summer). I want to insulate the garage this year, but it's still going to be relatively hot/cold. I don't really have space to store any lumber in house.

Am I been a bit over-concerned about it. Any suggestions?

TIA

Mark

·
Registered
5,445 Posts
I'm pretty much in the same boat with uninsulated garage space in Rochester. If you keep the cast iron treated, it'll be fine. If I had it to do over....I'd insulate it!

·
where's my table saw?
28,553 Posts
If you keep a car there in the winter

The water and salt from the car will drip down and remain on the floor. It will accelerate the rust on any cast iron tools. :thumbdown: Any solution that will remove the drip water, or cover the cast iron tools with either a sealant or a cloth cover will help.
Insulating will not reduce this effect. A visqueen divider down the center that will cut off the space from the car storage area will help.