Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am a realative newbie when it comes to woodworking. At the moment I am in the process of building the first of a series of wardrobes/alcove cupboards in my new house.

I have found that, though I have a router and a circular saw, I by and large use handtools for most jobs - I find them more enjoyable to use and the general lack of noise is appreciated by my 3 year old daughter.

I am on the brink of acquiring my first block plane or power planer. The choices boil down to

a. A decent Stanley block plane for around €45
b. An Einhell power planer for around €59

I am unable to decide whether the latter is a good choice and whether it will get used enough. I have to balance my appreciation of hand tools with the fact that I am doing this work on the side when I can grab a moment from my day job. By and large the planing work I have to do is smoothing joints etc. Time does not allow me the luxury of buying cheaper unplaned lumber for my jobs.

I am curious to see what others here will suggest.

·
Old School
24,017 Posts

We have an introduction section where you can say a few words about yourself. If you fill out your profile in your "User Control Panel", you can list any hobbies, experience or other facts. You can also list your general geographical location which would be a help in answering some questions.

I would suggest you save your money and not get a hand power plane. They are an aggressive tool, used mostly for rough carpentry, like trimming passage doors.

·
Registered
26,886 Posts
The hand held power plane wouldn't help you very much with surfacing rough lumber. It would be too difficult to control and would leave the boards uneven with grooves across it where you made multiple passes. It would be better to keep your eye out for a used portable planer for this purpose. Like cabinetman said the power hand planer is normally used to resize house doors.

·
Registered