Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi guys, I'm new to finishing but really enjoy watching such dramatic changes a good finish produces. So far my experience has been limited to mostly min wax products, but I am thinking of venturing somewhere new. The project is for myself so I don't mind experimenting. I am building a dresser with walnut and soft curly maple. I heard BLO was good to use to enhance the figure, and my old boss swears by Waterlox for finishing anything. My question is would using both be redundant because of the tung oil already in the Waterlox? Also I understand when using BLO a lot of people will use dewaxed shellac before their "film". I was curious about the drying time before the " barrier coat" if the process of using BLO before the Waterlox isn't redundant? Also I have heard of people lightly staining curly maple and sanding it out to enhance the curl, would this be a better alternative to BLO since the Waterlox contains tung oil? Suggestions would be appreciated, I am fairly certain I will be using the Waterlox but any tips or add in processes would be awesome. Thanks!

·
Registered
154 Posts
Finish

waterlox will pop the grain. Go to their site and read how to apply the original and the others. It takes about 30 days to fully cure before rubbing out if that is what you plan to do.

·
Registered
26,339 Posts