Woodworking Talk banner
  • Hello Everyone! Let us know what you would spend a $50 Amazon gift card on, HERE For a chance to win a $50 Amazon Gift Card!
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm an novice and not pretending to be more. So please be kind.
I built our dining room table just to see if I could do it. Overall it came out pretty decent. I used pine wood to make it on a budget.
But I didn't plane the wood because I didn't know that was something you should do. I also didn't own a table saw at the time and didn't level the slightly bowed pieces. So I have gaps in the boards. The design also framed out the boards with 2x4s all around it. So there's no room for the wood to expand or shrink.
Anyway, my plan is to one day scrap the table entirely and rebuild. But for the time being this is the table I have.
I built it a few years ago and now I'm starting to think maybe I can do something about those gaps between the boards.
Would epoxy work? Or is there some other filter I might try and use just to seal it up and make the table a bit more.... Useable and less unsightly? Just thought I'd ask.
Other things I've built: picture frame molding in my dining room, board and batten wall in my mudroom, coffee table and Lego table in the basement. And some floating shelves. And other odd little things over the years. I'm learning slowly. Thanks!
Water Liquid Automotive tire Leaf Wood
Tire Automotive tire Road surface Wood Asphalt
Table Plant Wood Rectangle Interior design

·
The Nut in the Cellar
1,496 Posts
How about posting a picture or two to see what we are working with? Is it stained and with what? What are the topcoats, varnish, oil? Just off the top of my feeble brain, I might use a wood filler tinted to match the current finish, then sand the top smooth, and re-topcoat. But without pictures, suggestions are a shot in the dark.
Oh and welcome to the forums.

·
Registered
567 Posts