Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to wood work in general. I have a project in mind to get me started using polyurethane. I want to apply stain a piece of white pine then glue a photograph to the wood and apply polyurethane over the photograph. Is this possible, if so, is there any particular brand or type of Polyurethane that works best. Thank you for your time..:eek:

·
Registered
89 Posts
Not sure, but I would think it would work although it may pull out your colors. Polyurethane pulls out the moisture. As for brand I use Minwax fast-drying Semi-Gloss. Hope I helped a little bit.

·
Registered
181 Posts
I did this with an old black and white photo of my parents about 30 years ago and it looks as good now as it did then. Pretty sure I used oil base poly at the time, all I remember for sure was that it was polyurethane. It was real thick, I poured it over a walnut plaque with the photo attached, ended up about 1/16" thick. I'd probably try a photo you aren't afraid to lose as a test now though.

Reactions: tinker111

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
I have done something that may help you in your project.

I made a plaque with a sign attached. The sign was just a piece of paper and printed by an ink jet printer. I stuck the paper into wet oil based polyurethane. Then for a second coat I just wiped on more polyurethane. It worked great and the ink didn't run.

Reactions: tinker111

·
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Polyurethane over Photo

Thank you to everyone that replied to my post!! I will take everything mentioned and make a few trial runs and make sure my process is correct. :clap::clap::clap:

Thanks again!!

·
In History is the Future
6,423 Posts
I use to use spray spray can lacquer and poly to water proof food label (wine) mock-ups when I was still involved in that. Those were ink jet photo prints and I never had trouble.