Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I am apply oil based poly (thinned about 30-40%) to the surface of my wood project and end up with a lot of very tiny (not quite microscopic, but you need to be close to the wood to see them) areas where the poly doesn't settle very well. I don't know how to describe it other than it looks like little microfibre parts of the grain that the poly doesn't adhere to. I have several coats of poly applied and have lightly sanded with 400, then 600. This last time I tried 22, 400, and 600 before each coat and still get spotty coverage. I am cleaning the surface very well prior to applying poly. Is that the grain of the wood causing that or are those tiny scratches? Would it help to not lightly sand before the next coat and start building up the poly in those areas? I am new to woodwork finishing so may have don't know if this is normal or if I did something incorrectly along the way. Any suggestion? Thanks!

·
Registered
26,982 Posts
There are a couple of things that come to mind. How long did you let the stain dry before applying the poly? If you didn't let it dry overnight then the stain may be reacting to the poly. Another problem you may be having is thinning the poly. The only time I thin poly is to spray it and I thin it as little as possible. Thinning 30 to 40 percent its too much thinner and not enough substance. It would eventually cover but would take many many coats. As far as the scratches I normally sand with 220 grit between coats. I think the only reason you are getting scratches with the finer paper is because the finish is too thin. Try a spot without thinning it at all and see how it does.

·
Registered
22 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·