Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone.

This is my dining room. Complete with death drop to the family room below. :icon_smile:

Originally, when the house was built, we believe there was a full length wood screen built between the pole and wall. Rather than put a full length screen in, we've been thinking we'd install a railing. Something along these lines:

I've never built stairs or railings before so.... Questions!

1. I'd like to "float" the railing a few inches above the floor. The span between the pole and wall is 6.5ft. For support, does the shoe rail need to get a support under it at some place in the middle? Or, will the wall and pole provide enough support for the structure. (I'd really like to avoid having to drill into the terrazzo floors)

2. Give it's location, this thing needs to be pretty sturdy. Are 1 3/4in balusters with 2 3/4in hand/shoe rails "substantial" enough? Or, should I really beef it up with something along these lines:

3. I'd like the railing to match the color of the beams and built-ins in our house. (that really dark brown) Given this, is maple a good choice for material?

4. How are balusters normally attached to railings? Dowels? Nails? Glue? Screws? Duct Tape? :icon_smile:

5. Got any other thoughts/advice/ideas for this little project? I'd love to hear them!

·
amateur
235 Posts
Hey,

The column to the right in the pictures, is it solid wood (or 2x4 build) covered with drywall, or a round steel column covered with drywall or something else? Also, direcly opposite the column is there a stud under the drywall?

If there is sufficent wood under the drywall you might be able to use some sort of anchor to attach the railing to the wall.

Cabinetman will be along in a minute to give you the real answer ...

Greg

·
Registered
26,984 Posts