Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all! I am new to wood working and have been a DIY carpenter for awhile. I'm pretty used to using mechanical fasteners and will be foraying into advanced joinery methods here really soon. I realize there will be a need to plane some of these joints smooth and have no idea what kinds of planers to buy, what sizes, etc.

Can anyone give me any advice on a basic set of planers and possibly chisels I will need for nice dovetails, finger and tennon joints? I am very interested in experimenting and learning but will need some ideas on what tools I need to get started.

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
1,529 Posts
You're going to get a lot of answers, many of them wildly different. Here's my take:

1) Saws are where you should start. For dovetailing, get a good dovetail or carcasse saw. Veritas makes a nice one for about $80. Get the one filed rip; that's what I did, and it makes a fairly smooth cut with minimal tearout at the exit side even when crosscutting pine. It will also work for small tenons.

2) For planes, it depends on how deep you want to get into hand tool work. If you're buying or machining 4s wood, then cutting it to length, I'd advocate for a good low-angle smoother or jack if you're buying new, or a #4 or #5 equivalent if you're buying old tools. Build a shooting board, and you'll be able to get the ends of your boards perfectly square, which is important. I've been using a #4 equivalent with the Wards Master logo, who knows who made it, and it works well as long as I keep it sharp.

3) What chisels you need depends on what size wood you're working with and what spaces you need to work in. I've been practicing with 1x4 pine, and I'm finding that a 1", 1/2", and 1/4" bench chisels are the ones I use most. I use the 1" for trimming tails and pins to exact measurements, and the half and quarter inch sizes for trimming out waste.