Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm totally new to woodworking (and not sure how much this qualifies as woodworking), but thought this might be the place to go to ask my questions. If there's a better place please feel free to let me know. I got a pie safe after my grandmother passed a few years ago. From what I can tell it was made by a furniture company in St. Louis sometime in the 1890s. My grandmother had stripped the finish from almost all of it, so there wasn't any way to fix it. I completed the finish removal and wasn't sure where to go from there. I'd like to refinish it and get new tins for the front and use it in the house. It's obviously been used and roughed up in spots, but I'm ok with the look.

I guess my first question would be, what type of wood is it made from? Any advice on what type of product I would finish it with? Would I be advised to disassemble the drawers and re-glue them so they are sturdier? It's got some interesting looking dovetail joints that are nailed and glued, so I'd rather not touch them if I don't have to. Any/all advise is welcome. Thanks for your input!

Attachments

·
Registered
26,957 Posts
It's difficult to tell from the pictures what kind of wood it is. My guess is it made from soft maple or poplar. You are correct in that it would be best to un-assemble the drawers to reglue them. Clean as much of the old glue off as possible and use a slow set two part epoxy to put them back together. The dovetail joints were probably not nailed originally. The nails were probably an early repair. How bad is the original tin. From what I can see of it, it would be a shame to put something else in it. If you are going to change it depending on the size you might be able to get some from www.vandykes.com