Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi! I'm a novice woodworker, but I've got an idea for something I want to make and sell. My friends are telling me that I need to get a patent or copyright or something for my designs so other people won't be able to use them. Is this really important or necessary???

Any thoughts or advice would be appreciated!

Stephanie

·
Registered
1,544 Posts
I think that there is a couple of people here who have marketed some stuff so hopfully they will chime in.

I would think that you would want to but hear it is a time consuming process.

·
Registered
4,691 Posts
That is a tough question, being a little vague and all. Do a patent search...it may already be patented :blink: http://www.google.com/patents . There are different ways to protect your "intelectual property" copywriting is not probably the route for a product, but it can be trademarked. I wrestled with the idea when I came up with these. http://woodallures.com/ . I found out it was not worth the hassle, nobody wanted to steal my idea :laughing: (not enought $ and too much work). I bet you could get a free/cheap consult with a patent attorney, he would probably give better advice than this lot.

·
Registered
41 Posts
Discussion Starter #4