Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

· Registered
36 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My old 6 in pneumatic sander needs replaced, I want electric with dust collection. 5 inch is OK, but what is with this velcro hook and loop sanding disk option? Aren't they expensive? Please suggest a brand and model for home shop use, any price.

· Administrator
David - Machinist in wood
6,621 Posts
I've used a DeWalt ROS for years with no real issue. I replaced the Velcro pad once but that was easy, seems like it was about $12 and took all of five minutes to change.

· The Nut in the Cellar
2,000 Posts
I've been using a Bosch 3725DVS ROS for close to 20 years now. It has excellent dust collection via the 16' Bosch crush prof hose I bought with it. I use a ShopVac for dust collection with CleanStream filters. The hose works with all of my other sanders too and is really flexible. The sander has a hook and loop pad and it works great. It is easily replaceable with a single screw and I'm on the second replacement pad. The sander is well balanced, vibration free, and you can literally guide it with the cord. If it ever becomes irreparable, I'd buy another one. I am a hobbyist wood worker, but this machine is production shop capable.

Reactions: Scurvy

· Registered
1,743 Posts
My dewalt ROS is 20 years old and works fine. I don't spend hours sanding at one go unless I'm doing a ton of cabinets and drawers.

There are definitely more expensive sanders and they are doubtless much better, but the cheap model has suited my needs fine to date.

· Registered
56 Posts
I have the Dewalt ROS and have used it for around 5 years and I thought I had a decent sander until I used a friends 3M Xtract which is new to the market.