Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to woodworking and getting machines ready to build my kids some Christmas presents. In my barn I found an old Craftsman table saw model 103.23823 looks like it is at least 30 years old. The motor (GE induction 1 1/2hp) for the saw had a cut cord so I replaced it with a cord that went to a lamp and when I plugged her in it hummed and then popped the power surge on the power chord. Doesn't feel seized as I can spin the shaft effortlessly.

Any experience with this or ideas would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks, Jack

·
Registered
1,288 Posts
I am new to woodworking and getting machines ready to build my kids some Christmas presents. In my barn I found an old Craftsman table saw model 103.23823 looks like it is at least 30 years old. The motor (GE induction 1 1/2hp) for the saw had a cut cord so I replaced it with a cord that went to a lamp and when I plugged her in it hummed and then popped the power surge on the power chord. Doesn't feel seized as I can spin the shaft effortlessly.

Thanks, Jack
I would completly replace the cord. If you do not feel comfortable doing it yourself, find an electrician to do it for you.
I would also have the electrician check the motor itself for a short, or it may just be very dirty on the inside of the motor. It probably is full of dust and sawdust.
If the blade turns the the motor is not froze either. It sounds like a short to me.

·
Registered
789 Posts
Keep in mind that a 1-1/2 hp motor probably pulls 15 amps during the start, and you used a lamp cord that may be 18 gauge wire, which will not carry the load...I repeat, not carry the load. The cord needs to be at least a 12 gauge, heavy duty cord to pull the load when starting and in a heavy cut.