Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been thinking about trying some box joints and I have no experience with dado blades. First is this safe to run? I have no writing on it. I would guess its a power kraft or something similar just because I got this and a old saw (powerkraft)from a family friend unloading his basement of his dads old stuff.
Anybody seen one like this?
Also-do I need to make a insert for my table saw before using or not? My wood should be long enough to clear the insert area.
Untitled by [email protected], on Flickr

·
John
3,028 Posts
I have been thinking about trying some box joints and I have no experience with dado blades. First is this safe to run? I have no writing on it. I would guess its a power kraft or something similar just because I got this and a old saw (powerkraft)from a family friend unloading his basement of his dads old stuff.
Anybody seen one like this?
Also-do I need to make a insert for my table saw before using or not? My wood should be long enough to clear the insert area.
I agree with mdntrdr, it looks like it would be difficult to get a good looking box joint with that set. Remember that box joints are visible and a ragged bottom of the cut will show up. I looks like it would make a serviceable dado though as long as the ends of the dado are hidden.
Yes, you should use an insert sized as closely as possible to the width of the dado for safety. Sounds like mdntrdr has made a purpose built sled to eliminate the need but the aspect needs to be addressed one way or another. :smile:

·
7,222 Posts
You guys think it will my cuts will be rough with no carbide? As long as it's safe I'll try it.
No one mentioned carbide. It is the design of the cutters, and few teeth which may result in a rough cut surface which can result in problems fitting the box joints together.

·
Registered
159 Posts
Discussion Starter #7