Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a woodworking newbie, at least when you measure by the number of projects I've completed.

Last month I purchased an old Sears Craftsman Table Saw with a cast iron top on craigslist. After several hours of using steel wool and wet/dry sandpaper on the surface to clean up the rust, breaking and then replacing the tilt wheel, and purchasing a new blade.

Now, I can't seem to tilt the blade - and I'm worried I'm going to break the wheel or saw if I force it - anyone have an idea what could be the problem? I'm hoping it's user error...

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Do you have the tilt lock released? Its the top lever on the front of the saw.

Im interested in seeing before and after pics too. Im getting ready to clean one of these up myself.

·
Registered
305 Posts
How about a picture of the saw? I have an old ~1969 iron top Craftsman saw. There is a crank on the side and a crank on the front. No tilt lock. :blink:

·
No Longer Here, BY CHOICE
2,442 Posts
Yeah pics and a model number would be helpful. The 113 saws have a crank on the side for tilt, a crank on the front for elevation and a tilt lock lever on the front, up top just below the table.

·
where's my table saw?
29,960 Posts
the gears are gummed up with sawdust

There's a bevel gear and sector that when you crank the wheel can't turn because there is a build up of crud in the teeth...happens all the time on those saws., mine included. Turn the saw upside dwon on the bench and you'll see what I mean. A fine bladed screw driver or awl will loosen the crud and push it out. Then spray the gears with a dryslide lubricant to prevent the sawdust from cling to the gears. PB Blaster makes a dry slide lube, there are others.

Attachments

·
Registered
679 Posts