Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
27,758 Posts
It's very durable but it isn't a very good jointer. I've been using one like that for about 40 years. The rear table isn't adjustable so you have to put the knives in perfect to work. Sometimes that can take hours. The fence won't stay at 90 degrees. You can set it up and use it for a couple of hours and then find it's off a degree or two. I finally took it off and made a homemade fence which I can depend on. It does have enough power for edge jointing. I've jointed miles of red oak on mine. The price is about what they are going for in the Dallas area.

·
where's my table saw?
29,960 Posts
I have an older one

Mine has a fixed outfeed table. It looks like that one has a knob adjustment of the outfeed table...?
I've had it for about 40 years, with no problems except to replace the 2 arbor bearings.
The lack of outfeed table adjustment is not an issue for me, I donno about Steve Ramsey's experience.
Setting the blades is easy once you understand the process.
As far as a reasonable offer $150 tops or $100 bargain. it's very bulletprooof and will serve you well. JMO.

·
Registered
614 Posts
I got one like that for $50. Anything more I would have felt ripped off. The main complaint is that the outfeed table does not have an adjustment. This results in a lot of snipe at the end of a board.

·
where's my table saw?
29,960 Posts
sounds like your blades are set too high

I got one like that for $50. Anything more I would have felt ripped off. The main complaint is that the outfeed table does not have an adjustment. This results in a lot of snipe at the end of a board.
here's a good yideo on set up:

Another good one:

·
Registered
13,301 Posts

My jointer has no adjustable outfeed table. I have no snipe on boards run through that jointer. The secret is even pressure. Do not keep all of the pressure on the right side of the board as the end passes over the blades.
'