Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

I am a total novice and hobbyist looking for some help. I have made a few almost straight pieces of furniture. I have used oak and/or pine depending on the piece. I stained them with oil based stain.

Now... to seal/protect them... I have been using basic polyurethane varnish, usually the satin variety...

I also tried some oils, tung, etc.

My question: For indoor furniture will the oil and the poly offer the same protection from warping, rotting, and any other problems I might not be aware of?

Thanks in advance for any help.
c

·
Sawdust Creator
8,047 Posts
If woods rotting indoors you have a bigger problem than the finish. Poly will protect it fine, if you like the look of poly, I use lacquer on oak, although it is a bit more complicated to use than poly, by I like the look of that better.

·
Registered
26,340 Posts
A lot depends on the application. If you use a oil finish on something like a table top where a person regularly sets a sweaty glass in the same place then that spot will be more prone to rot than if it had a polyurethane finish on it. Then the same table if you use an oil finish or polyurethane finish on just the top side of the table top, the table with the polyurethane finish is more likely to warp than the one with the oil finish. If the underside is done then the polyurethane finished table is less likely to warp because it seals out the humidity better. The polyurethane is literally a plastic coating where the oil finish is somewhat porous, tung oil being better than linseed oil.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
thank you

Hey guys,

thanks for the advice and help.

Like I said, I am a novice... so while I have been using poly/varnish, I have trouble getting the surface bubble/imperfection free... despite four coats with sanding between...