Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 2 of 2 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,
I am new here and I am not a pro :)
I have been doing some DIY furniture refinishing etc.

My next project is kitchen cabinets :)
So - red oak finished in "honey" or "gold"

Not in my taste.

I stripped all lower cabinets - they look awesome! (First - I had idea to pain it /stain it, but when I started stripping and raw wood came out - I just loved it! )
Now I want to do the same with upper, but I want them to be lighter then lower, so I want to bleach the whole upper thing.

Ok - getting to the point:
Bleaching!
I have read that to remove color from wood the best is to use 2 Part bleach. Maybe, but it is very difficult to find! I found some on amazon but they sell it only in gallons - I don't want that much.

SO I have a question here. Would it be ok to use lower concentration of Hydrogen Peroxide? Not 35% but 12%? And do you think I could use product that is sold in hair supply stores instead of pure Hydroxide? It is 40 developer (12% Hydrogen Peroxide)
Here is an example:

http://www.sallybeauty.com/40-Volume-Developer/SLNCAR67,default,pd.html

What about using just regular household bleach? I know it works because I already tried it on a little piece but I just wonder how that would on the whole door? Anyone tried? Would the bleaching be even? And how the regular bleach is different from 2 part bleach in term of results?

Any suggestion appreciated :)

Thank you

·
Registered
26,891 Posts