Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone. I am a novice woodworker and I recently purchased a craftsman jigsaw that got great reviews. I am using it to cut 3/4" mdf as I am trying to make radiator covers. I marked out my first cut, clamped a straightedge to the mdf so I could make a straight cut and began to cut using a woodcutting blade and a high speed setting. About six inches into the cut the blade started bending to the left and my cut went very crooked. I've since tried every possible combo of speed and blade action settings on test pieces and can't get it to cut a straight or perpendicular line. I've used jigsaws before and never had this problem. Could it be a cheap blade, bad jigsaw, cutting problems with mdf, or just my stupidity? Any help would be greatly appreciated.

·
Nobody
1,237 Posts
MDF is hard to cut anyway.

If the blade and base are not perfect the fence
board will just make it worse.

You really need a power hand saw and a good blade
to get good straight cuts on the stuff.

A table saw and a helper are the best way to go.

If they always go to the same side, I am sure it
is a blade alignment problem, but I don't know
how to correct it.

If all else fails, you could do it with a hand saw.

·
Banned
496 Posts
I don't have any experience with the Craftsman jigsaw you mentioned, which ever one you have, since your not real specific on the model. I have a Bosch 1591EVSK jigsaw. You may want to try some Bosch blades, from what I understand, they are the best. I guess I don't understand what cuts your atempting to make, you don't describe that well either. Are you trying to cut everything with the jigsaw ? or just openings in the panels for screen type material ?

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter #4