Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am new to wood working. I was trying to find a cabinet that would fit in my closet to house all of my networking and audio equipment. Unfortunately I wasnt able to find anything that would fit. So now I have decided to build my own cabinet. I have bought a couple sheets of 3/4 birch plywood. I have created my plans and about ready to start cutting them out.
However I am looking ahead and thinking I want to stain this cabinet black. I have done a lot of reading and see that Birch wood can be hard to stain a dark color and can be bad with blotching.
I read an older post that recommended using Charles Neil pre-conditioner. So I have ordered some of that.
Can someone please recommend a black stain product. But I am not sure if I should use oil based, water based, dye, etc? I looked at my local Home Depot and didnt see anything that I thought would work. Just looking for some direction. Thanks!
Images attached is a sketchup I made and the design layout I have in my head.

Attachments

·
CharleyL
356 Posts
Why stain? A sprayed black acrylic paint would produce a better finish and be much easier to apply. Black staining is very difficult to apply and get an even result.

What are your plans for covering the edges of the plywood? Raw plywood edges never look very nice. Some strips of soft maple (similar color and grain structure to birch) glued onto the end grain of the plywood would improve the appearance. I've even done this to birch plywood stained cabinets with light color stains.

Charley

·
Nine Thumbs
399 Posts
Painting and staining result in two very different finishes. Paint lays on the surface, while stain penetrates deeper. Staining naturally allows the grain structure to show. It also allows for a range of hues and color depth, depending on how many applications and application method.