Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I went to my Father's house for a visit and came home with a mirror that had been part of my Mother's bedroom set as a kid. I'd like to refinish it - maybe even make it into a contemporary looking mirror. What is the best product to use to remove it's original finish before doing some sanding to smooth out the surface. I'm thinking of painting/staining it gray or silver. I may even give it a distressed look - not sure.

First I'd like to prep it. Here is the picture:

IMG_0130 (2).jpg

·
Registered
5,490 Posts
Hi and welcome.
I’m not an expert, but I refinished all my kitchen cabinets and I used JASCO Paint remover. It worked great and the new finish came out better then I expected. Just follow the directions. I’ve never used any other products and maybe someone else knows of something better.

·
Registered
26,369 Posts