Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 30 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, all and Happy New Year! First time poster here. As with many first time posters, I am looking for a recommendation for a TS for a new shop I am setting up. I've had some experience with basic woodworking, but this will be my first dedicated wood shop. Here are the particulars:

Shop is small. Everyone thinks their shop is small. Mine is really small. 12' x 12' with two doors (one each on adjoining walls). One door is to rest of basement and one wider utility door is to the great outdoors (concrete pad - perfect for jobs that won't fit inside). It is dry walled, heated, and very well lit. One fairly serious downside is there is only a single 120v outlet, but at least it is a 20amp circuit.

My primary game plan is a modular/mobile workshop so that tools may be brought out and then tucked away. I am currently using masking tape on the floor to size up how I want to lay it out. I already have a sliding compound miter and am planning to build it into the middle of a fixed a workbench along the full width of one doorless wall. Everything else will be bench top tools mounted on wheeled carts. I had toyed quite seriously with the idea of a shop smith to save some space and money. The more I looked at it though I'm not sure I'll be using many of the functions it provides (lathe, horizontal boring), and I'm not sure I like the idea of a table saw without a riving knife and blade guard when I'm starting out. Thoughts?