Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie question I just found someone selling Ash on the CL. Is the wood any good? I know depends on the project
, but its a general question. What would one use this wood for besides making baseball bats?

TIA

Richard

AIR DRIED 5 years +

1" thick, rough sawn, random width 4" to 10" X 8' to 10' length

#2 and #3 common grade mixed.

$.45/BF, minimum 100 BF, any cheaper than this and we would just call it firewood.
Also, some red Oak of similar grade available at the same price.

This would be very good for someone who crafts small items such as nick-knack shelves, foot stools, wall plaques etc. or who has the artistic talent to create rustic shabby-chic furniture.

I'm not an expert wood grader or lumber dealer. This was cut off my own property and I got way more than needed. I am making my best judgement of grade based on the information on this page: http://www.schallerhardwood.com/hardwood_lumber_grades.htm

·
Registered
147 Posts
You can use ash for anything you'd like. I don't know why everyone thinks that because ash is used for baseball bats it's as hard as steel. I've made a few projects with it and it's very easy to work with. Like most hardwoods you have to predrill if you're using screws.

I don't know a lot about moisture levels but I'm not sure if I'd trust the AIR DRIED 5 years +

·
Registered
354 Posts
If it's #2 and #3 there will be numerous knots and probably edge defects. Around here ash is about $2 bf at lumber yards. That stuff's cheap but you'll have to so a lot of culling to get usable lumber.

Air dried will have reached equilibrium moisture contect for your area of the country. Around here it's 10-11% but with the ocean nearby yours may be higher.

There'll probably be a lot of work involved to get relatively smallish pieces of good stuff.

·
Registered
354 Posts