Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, and thanks for all the advice I've gotten on the forum. Very helpful.

I have an antique head and footboard (Ash) that I have just finished sanding and am now ready to finish. I've been reading about the benefits of dye and the fact that it brings out more grain (absorption) than does stain, which is what I want. I have some experience with stains, but have never used dye's. what are the cons to using it? At this point application would probably done with a foam brush since the airless sprayers I've been looking at are at least 700.00. Is there any advice as to application by brush? Also, any advice on using alcohol or water base dye's?

Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
26,193 Posts
Dyes especially the alcohol based dyes are better sprayed at low pressure. If you intend to work them by hand I would thin it a great deal more than you would spraying it. It would be better to go light and add more coats than get it too dark to begin with and end up trying to take some off. Personally if the wood is reasonably the same density I think an oil stain would work better on ash. On the other hand if some boards are very hard and some are very soft it could go blotchy using an oil stain. You could also use the dye to bring the bed close to the color you want and then use an oil stain to give it some warmth. Sometimes dyes tend to give wood a kinda plastic look.

·
Registered
1,510 Posts
Be aware that dyes work best when absorbed into the wood. With a previously finished piece that may not work like it does on new wood. It's very hard to remove all the previous finish, and what is removed may be a little inconsistent across the face. Just a cautionary statement. One other little tidbit: as I understand it, alcohol dyes are not quite as light fast as the ones made for water. All dyes are less light fast than stains, but alcohol dyes a little less so.

·
Registered
175 Posts