Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Admittedly, I'm a beginner in woodworking or anything relating to carpentry. Experimenting, I exchanged a 8 1/4" blade with a 7 1/4" blade as it was the only one I had on hand and didn't think it was a big deal. Now I find that I can't remove the blade. I'm not sure if I should take the saw to a local repairshop to have them do it for me but I thought I'd sign up and ask a professional online before I went that route.

Every time I try to loosen the nut that holds back the blade, it turns the entire blade but the nut doesn't come off. I tried to find an alternate place on the saw where I thought I should place a second wrench to hold it while I turned the nut, but I couldn't find one.

I was given this miter saw, months ago, by my brother in law and I don't have the instructions for it. I'm afraid if I ask him for help, he may want the saw back.

Joe

·
Sawdust Creator
8,046 Posts
Unplug it...put a board on the base, bring the blade down to the wood so it's touching....then use wrench.....blade will be immobilized by the wood.

·
John
3,028 Posts
What Danno said. Make and model or, better yet a picture, would help a lot.
+1 on the left hand thread.

Reactions: jb59

·
Old Methane Gas Cloud
3,500 Posts
Yes left thread.

BTW - There should be a button that locks the arbor. It is usually on the right side and spring loaded. Hold the button in with the right hand and with the wrench handle pointed toward you, push down.

·
RAM Man
758 Posts
Check your Owners Manual.

·
Registered
336 Posts
Check your Owners Manual.
+1 The first sign of a problem with any equipment is a sign to consult the owners manual.
DAMHIKT

·
Turning Wood Into Art
4,043 Posts
most saws have a reverse thread

most saws if not all have a lock botton of lever to lock the spindle