Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Michael G
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm new to woodworking and have decided to stick to mostly hand tools for various reasons. I'm building a relatively large 30" x 24" mitered picture frame and have struggled quite a bit with planing. Since I'm new to the process, I'm hesitant to keep spending on more tools until I've paid my dues a little bit (but believe me, I've already spent PLENTY on all kinds of gear). So for this first project, I'm trying to build the frame with what I already have, which means my only plane is an old Stanley 110 block plane. I've spent a fair amount of time sharpening the blade on a 400/1000 grit diamond stone, flattening the back, etc. When I do the paper test, it seems plenty sharp. But I've really struggled with being able to get a clean cut. It catches on the wood a lot and I'm finding it really tough to just cut a ribbon off the length of an edge without it getting jammed. I'm especially struggling with using it on a shooting board to clean up the mitered edges. It just can't seem to help getting jammed as I try to plane across the edge of the board. And needless to say, it's been tough to joint the edges square with the block plane, but I'm well aware that it's not the right tool for that particular job.

So I guess I'm just wondering if my problem is just that I still haven't figured out how to get the plane blade sharp enough, or is it that I'm crazy to try to do this project with just a small block plane. For those of you with a little more experience, do you think that taking on this project with a block plane would be doable? Or can I blame the tool and know that once I get a decent No. 5, my life will be a lot easier?

Thanks very much for any insight.

·
Registered
708 Posts