Woodworking Talk banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I want to build a bedroom set, but I know nothing about it other than what I am reading online, and I have some questions.

What is the best wood to use, and why? I want to use something that won't be too expensive, but will look nice with a good finish.

Is it better (easier) to start on the bed or the night stands?

Also, I will be buying all the tools for the job, and would like any advice in that area that anyone wants to give me. I have a drill, but will need a circular saw, a table and vise (can I use a sawhorse or is that dangerous with power tools?), sandpaper and files. Will I need a jigsaw? A sander?

·
Registered
140 Posts
Disclaimer: I am newish to wood working so I am no expert but advise from a newb maybe what you are seeking. This is a pretty open ended question that can result in tons of information. Generally speaking about the wood if you want inexpensive and dont mind painting the wood as a finish then pine might be the way to go. Its hard to stain but its also a cheaper and widely available wood. You may get splintering on your cuts though. Oak is another option if you wish to stain but it can get pricey pretty quick. Another option is to build pine on the inside and use oak play on the outside but that may go beyond your skill level. As far as tools are concerned I can not say enough how much I love my table saw and router. Both do so much for really getting that extra level of technique down. You will definately need a sander. I would recomend watching videos about sanding as it is VERY IMPORTANT. I would actually say first figure out what you want to do and determine what you can do then you can get a full list of what you need. I would say a bed frame would be easiest to start with but you also need to make sure it can withstand the weight during use. This can involve anything from simple to very comlex joinery. I have no doubt in my mind that you ar