Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
I don't want to pay 219+tax to get this product.
http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/20117674
I want to build something looking like this i am a bit familiar with wood work.
My previous works are reversing a doors opening direction and a cat house that's about 5 6 foot height (but its covered with rugs so i didn't need good wood work.)

I need to know is if i should just buy would be cheaper or really build it. But then i need to buy a jig saw, drill (witch I'm already planning to buy). I need to figure out which type of wood i should buy.
Since i am a newbie to these types of projects, what should i consider? Is home depot would be my best practice or any suggestions to get my products. I am located in Yorba Linda CA.

Open to any opinions. Thanks

·
Joonya Membah
173 Posts
If you don't already own the tools, expect this project's grand total to cost you more than 3 times as much as this Ikea product.

You'll have a better quality cabinet made of stronger plywood and a better looking, more durable finish... but in all reality this design is as cheap as it comes. The wood will cost you over $100. Add in the hardware, glass, finish, you're probably at around $200. Add in the time investment (whatever your time is worth) - I'd estimate 20 hours to complete this project - and you're over the price point. The more you make at one time, the cheaper the cost is, though...

Add in a decent table saw, dado blades, a sander, biscuit joiner, and a drill press, and you're somewhere around $2500 :) You *could* do this all with hand tools, and some guys here probably can... but for a complete novice, you're probably looking at 6 months worth of work.

·
Registered
92 Posts