Woodworking Talk banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi everyone. I am an aspiring woodworker and I have really takein a lot of interest in the craft lately. I've done some construction carpentry nd other things in construction and I am an electrician by trade so I'm pretty good with using my hands nd different types of tools but I have never done fine carpentry. I would really like to learn how to become a good woodworker but I dnt really know where to start. So I was hoping some of you could give me some tips on different schools, books, and techniques and pretty much any other advice you could give to help me out. I would really appreciate it. By the way I live in south jersey so any school suggestions would have to be in that area. Thanks for any input.

·
crosseyed & dyslexic
589 Posts
Hi Steve and welcome :thumbsup:
How about I try and give you some generalities. Woodworkers are in my opinion very detailed people, hence we like to research, read and study.
I read a lot of books, articles and magazines. Think about what kind of woodworking excites you, what in your minds eye can you see yourself building? Is it furniture, or cutting boards, whatever it is
start reading about it and woodworking in general.
It's easy to get overloaded and bogged down on all there is to know, tools to acquire etc, etc..
As for myself I like to build Craftsman style furniture. I started out reading a book on the history of the movement and the style and who the key players were. That led to the building and what is involved in Craftsman style, mortise and tenon joinery is very paramount in that style, which led to reading, studying and finally applying what I've learned in books. It's a slow process and not one to hurry along, enjoy the ride.
So I guess my biggest piece of advice is to read and soak up as much information about whatever it is you decide will float your boat.
Good luck!

·
Registered
1,399 Posts